FLASH for string quartet

1. Flash
2. Blue
3. Skronk

12 minutes

Skronk premiered by the Argus Quartet, New Horizons Concert Series, Chapman University.

The piece opens with a lively pizzicato that delivers a sense of rapid movement and continuous activity. The uptempo feel and groove is distinctly urban, and solos by the violins add to the sense of motion and purpose. The infectious rhythms and complex texture compliment the driving beat and the playing here by the Argus Quartet was invigorating, yet precise. Skronk nicely captures the intensity and excitement of a casual stroll through a colorful New York neighborhood.
— Paul Muller, Sequenza 21